Our emotions are messages to teach us.

There are no good or bad emotions!

Emotions are meant as indications or ways your body communicates to yourself.

You are NOT asking anything to change, get better, or release.

Learning to listen and be able to sit with your emotions, ask yourself questions and be aware of how you feel is important to your happiness.

The Emotional Guidance Scale was one of the first tools that made a lot of sense to me. I felt programed that I shouldn’t feel angry, blame or hatred. It was almost as if those were the dark emotions or what I was never supposed to feel. I was told I should always live in a place of joy, happiness or contentment. The reality is everyone feels angry, blame, hatred and fear. Those ARE all human emotions. They are emotions that indicate what is going on right now, in this moment, or this exact space in life. In Tip 4 I will go more into living in the top spots of the scale, but for this tip it is about acknowledging where reality is and what you are feeling.

Imagine a scale that went from the best feeling emotion to most disconnect or uncomfortable emotion. (This is not about good and bad or negative and positive just how you are feeling emotionally.) The word for each emotion will bring up a feeling for each of those words. The feeling is how you rank where on the scale it puts you. Most connected to your authentic self feels the best and the most disconnected will feel not good. You will go through each word and put them in order from best feeling emotion to the most uncomfortable or disconnected emotion. You will gauge each word and how it feels against the next word so you search for the absolute emotion you don’t want to sit with to a better feeling emotion.

To each person emotions can hold a different feeling so

this is not the absolute truth for everyone.

Emotional Guidance Scale:

1. Joy/Knowledge/Empowerment/Freedom/Love/Appreciation

2. Passion

3. Enthusiasm/Eagerness/Happiness

4. Positive Expectation/Belief

5. Optimism

6. Hopefulness

7. Contentment

8. Boredom

9. Pessimism

10. Frustration/Irritation/Impatience

11. Overwhelmed

12. Disappointment

13. Doubt

14. Worry

15. Blame

16. Discouragement

17. Anger

18. Revenge

19. Hatred/Rage

20. Jealousy/Insecurity/Guilt/Unworthiness

21. Fear/Grief/Depression/Despair/Powerlessness

Honor yourself and what you are feeling! You have to be HONEST and true to what you are feeling to be able to move from the space or feeling you are in. If you are dishonest or try to be at an emotion that you do not really feel you are only hurting yourself. There is no right or wrong, there is nothing “wrong” about being at the bottom feeling emotion.

It is getting your SET POINT of where you are right now, in this moment and how it feels. That is where you are at on the scale at this exact point in time. Understanding emotions and feeling is important for this exercise. Your SET POINT can change from the morning, work or evening. Your SET POINT can even change from hour to hour based on what you are thinking and how it makes you feel.

Use this Scale as a tool to get comfortable and honest with yourself on where you are and what you are feeling. In the next tool I will discuss how to move through the scale to move up to a higher emotion and a feeling of relief.

Adapted from ‘The Teachings of Abraham’


Here are some posts we highly recommend for your reading pleasure.


I’m Jen.

Most days you will find me with a coffee in one hand, hot pink manure pick in the other with my mind bubbling over dreaming up ways to help my horse girl sisters find their true selves & ride their best life every. single. day.


Equestrian Confidence Toolbox


never give up-horses-u300x300
never finished learning-large

A clear plan for the rest of2020 is just a few hours away!

Join us for the FREE "Get Back On The Horse" 2020 Reset Workshops!

You have successfully signed up! Check your email inbox for details